Portland DUI DWI Attorney
Portland Defense Attorneys: Drunk Driving Charges
Sometimes people make bad decisions — drinking and driving or driving under the influence of drugs. Sometimes they are accused of things they did not do. At the Portland, Oregon, law offices of Owens, Sneller, Pinzelik & Wood, P.C., we understand this. We know that our DUII/DUI/DWI clients are facing real trouble and we offer effective legal representation with one goal in mind: creating legal solutions that get them headed in the right direction.
About Oregon DUII
Oregon law places serious consequences on drunk driving, even if you are a first-time offender. Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII, also commonly referred to as DUI or DWI) can be charged as a class A misdemeanor, if it is your first-offense or second-offense, or a class C felony if you have had three prior DUII convictions within the last 10 years.
If convicted for misdemeanor DUII/DUI/DWI, you could face one year in jail and a fine up to $6,250. If convicted for felony DUII/DUI/DWI, you could face additional fines, license suspension, and jail time. Additionally, a new law enacted in 2008 requires the use of an ignition interlock device (IID) by individuals convicted for drunk driving — even if it was your first offense.
Diversion programs may be an option for some Oregon DUII/DUI first-time offenders, or those who have not been convicted of drunk driving or a similar offense in the last 10 years. There are several advantages to participation in a diversion program. Court costs are lower, you do not lose your license, and you will not be required to spend time in jail. After completing the diversion program, no DUII/DUI conviction will be entered on your driving record.
Act Quickly. You Only Have 10 Days to Save Your Driver's License.
When you have been arrested for drunk driving, timing is critical. If you do not act quickly, you may lose your driver's license. Under Oregon law, you have only 10 days from the date of your DUII/DUI arrest to request a DMV hearing on your driver's license suspension. If you fail to request a hearing, you waive your right to challenge the revocation and your license will automatically be suspended. This administrative hearing is separate from any criminal case filed against you.
Contact Owens, Sneller, Pinzelik & Wood, P.C.
There may be effective defense strategies available, even if you failed the field sobriety test or Breathalyzer test. The best way to build a successful DUI/DUII defense is to act quickly. To schedule a confidential consultation with a skilled criminal defense lawyer at our Portland law firm, please call us at 503.766.3042 or contact us by e-mail.
Contact us to learn more about our 30 minute initial consultations.